Mach2 DEC does not slew

yanzhe liu

My mach2 suddenly developed an issue tonight during imaging. 

I first noticed that something went wrong because SGPro said the meridian flip failed (I have been imaging for a few months and never had any flip issue).

I did some tests and found out that DEC did not slew. RA slewed Ok with AP ASCOM driver and Keypad, however DEC did not.

If I slew to a target or park mount, the mount did not move at all and the light on CP5 turned to yellow. If I moved N/S using an ASCOM or Keypad, there was continuous clicking noise from the mount, it sounded like DEC was jammed or worm teeth got stripped.

Both RA and DEC were well balanced, power seemed good too. Last night's session was good.

Any idea what could be wrong?

Mike Hanson

Hi Yanzhe,

There are several things that could cause your symptoms.  Please run the following test to help isolate the problem:
1) Swap the RA and DEC cable connectors *AT THE MOUNT*.  The yellow LED will remain on, this is OK.  Test N/S and E/W to determine if the problem follows the N/S buttons to the RA axis.  If not, the issue is in the mount.  If the issue follows the N/S buttons to the RA axis, continue on to the next step.
2) Now swap the RA and DEC cable connectors *AT THE CP5* and see if the issue returns to the DEC axis.

Regards,
Mike Hanson

Roland Christen

You didn't strip any gears. You probably have a bad cable. Mark the Dec cable and put it on the RA side. See if the problem moves to the RA side. If so, we can ship you a new set of cables on Monday.

Rolando

-----Original Message-----
To: main@ap-gto.groups.io
Sent: Sun, Dec 19, 2021 12:31 am
Subject: [ap-gto] Mach2 DEC does not slew

I first noticed that something went wrong because SGPro said the meridian flip failed (I have been imaging for a few months and never had any flip issue).

I did some tests and found out that DEC did not slew. RA slewed Ok with AP ASCOM driver and Keypad, however DEC did not.