Re: Strange RA tracking issue with Mach2

Andrea Lucchetti

Hi, I have a thread open for something similar, also happened with 1.9.0.5 and mach2.
I have attached the link to my stars closeup there.
I am not saying the two cases have something in common, also because I was trying to image and didn’t follow an analytical approach at the problem.
I think it is worth to check my thread as we have the same combo, just in case .
Andrea 

On Mon, 13 Sep 2021 at 18:08, Roland Christen via groups.io <chris1011=aol.com@groups.io> wrote:

Has anyone seen something like this and know the root cause?
Your scope might be bouncing at the end of a slew due to excessive moment arm (counterweights far out on the cwt shaft). I can send you some instructions to tame the bounce at: chris1011@...

Rolando

-----Original Message-----
To: main@ap-gto.groups.io
Sent: Mon, Sep 13, 2021 10:58 am
Subject: [ap-gto] Strange RA tracking issue with Mach2

I've been using the Mach2 in the backyard for a few months now.
I also took it to a dark sky site in (irrc) May 2021, and also had no problems there.

On Sept 5 I took it out to a different dark sky site and had very strange and intermittent RA tracking issues: Trailed stars in what looks like an oscillation pattern.
I've attached a few screenshots to hopefully shed some light on what I'm seeing.

I'm using a 12" SCT-ACF with ~0.5 x reducer for about 1500mm focal length.
Afaict the Mach2 is just about "fully loaded".   
I've been using this setup in the backyard with APCC and APPM without any problems.

This is also after recently updating to APCC Pro 1.9.0.5, but I'm pretty sure I used 1.9.05 in the backyard also, and without any problems.
I'm using SGPro for imaging with APPM and using ASTAP directly from APPM.

One difference at this new site, is the tripod was not perfectly level in the north-south direction, but it was close.