Re: MACH1GTO VIBRATING

Roland Christen

The OP said he is getting tingling when touching anything on the mount, pier, CP 4 box, etc. that is NOT normal and could be an issue.
We have actually seen this before on another customer mount several years ago, a 1200 mount operated from a 2 prong plug 120v to 12 volt power supply. He was getting tingling shocks whenever he touched the pier. I asked him to use a voltmeter between the pier and ground and he was getting high AC voltage readings. Using a 12V battery eliminated the problem. Using a properly grounded 3-way power supply also worked. The leaky power supply was removed and he stopped using it.

Rolando

-----Original Message-----
To: ap-gto
Sent: Wed, Oct 9, 2019 11:11 pm
Subject: Re: [ap-gto] MACH1GTO VIBRATING

The OP said he is getting tingling when touching anything on the mount, pier, CP 4 box, etc. that is NOT normal and could be an issue. I am a retired electrical engineer that worked many years for an electric utility in California. 

I assume you are running AC to a regulated  DC power supply for everything.

First thing I would do....get a phase check device from your hardware store to confirm if your house is wired correctly. This is an inexpensive little block that has the two flat prongs and the round prong like a standard electric plug.  The device will usually have three LEDs on it that will help determine if you have the house circuit wired correctly. You would be amazed at how many houses aren't wired correctly.